Mom Secrets

I have a newsflash for all of you

I am not

and

never will be

nor do I want to be

Super Mom

Seriously, I see friends, co-workers, strangers running around trying to be it all. We have to be a cook, a maid, a chauffeur, a nurse, a personal shopper and on and on. Some of us work outside the home, some of us are stay at home – some do a whole lot of both.

But I think I can say with a level of certainty that we all have some things in common no matter our circumstances and choices – we are good, well intentioned people with expectations of ourselves that are WAY TOO HIGH.

I can’t jump over the bar anymore – can you?

So here I profess

– right now my youngest is having a bath for the first time in about five days (sigh)
– there are baskets of laundry waiting to be folded all over my house
– I cannot (honestly – I am not joking here) remember the last time I washed my kitchen floor
– my youngest broke his glasses about 2 months ago, I haven’t gotten them fixed yet, they are rolling around in my van somewhere while he wears his back up (old prescription) pair about the 3 times a week I remember to tell him to put them on.

There – I have proclaimed some of my “mom secrets”. It feels liberating. I am setting the bar low for myself. Not everything is going to get done. I am human. Not everything CAN get done. And you know what???? I am surprisingly okay with it all.

My husband on the other hand, might not be so okay with it all.

How about you – where’s your bar set?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

