Winter Fun

I’m very achy and sore today but thankfully I am not sick. Nope, it’s the fall out of my most recent outing with my 7 year old.

I realized last week that while I used to always go tobogganing (or sledding I think you call it in the U.S.) with C as a way to get him all the physical activity he needed and to try to preserve some of my sanity – I rarely ever take J.  There are always dishes to do, laundry to be folded and to be honest I am feeling older and out of shape and just downright lazy.

But I made a promise to myself that I would take him considering that following the horror that was 2010 I have this new resolve to seize the day and enjoy moments with the kids. To really be in the moment with them, not just as a casual observer or taking pictures on the sidelines to never one day scrapbook in an attempt to try to prove how happy and involved I was in their childhood. (the pictures here are actually from last year – we were too extreme yesterday for me to risk bringing the camera. 🙂

So yesterday C was away with his Dad so J and I headed out to the hill. I made sure I was warm so I wouldn’t wimp out and we took two toboggan’s with us. We got there and there were about 5 other families already enjoying the snow. I felt a little self conscious at first but it didn’t take long before J and I were racing each other down the hill. And I don’t mean that I sat on the toboggan and pushed off gently. Nope we started from standing and ran and launched ourselves down the hill.

When I posted something on my Facebook page a friend said she was nominating me for mother of the year. I pointed out that I would hardly fit that bill since on one occasion I actually reached over and caused my son to do a somersault in the air off his board and he landed face first in the snow. The I laughed at him (well I made sure he was okay first and he was laughing before I was). At one point he jumped off his board and onto my back. We were shrieking hysterical messes and while I didn’t last long the quality seemed to hit the spot for J.

Of course today my rib cage hurts and my whole body aches but soooooo totally worth it!

This entry was posted in Finding a Balance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

