Some Days

Some days he has these big ideas and strong opinions and I just smile and nod and calmly find ways to distract him

Some days he yells in my face and threatens me and I just take a step back and firmly but calmly tell him what needs to happen

Some days he is dysregulated and I grab him in a bear hug and I tell him we will make it through together.

Then there are the days like yesterday where I totally lose my shit

Days where I can’t take being yelled at and defied and delayed from taking his younger brother to an appointment.

Days where I yell and I am not a therapuetic parent and I storm around seriously wondering how on earth did I get here and how much a one way ticket to somewhere far, far away would cost.

But by now I know by now that the bad Some Days pass

and tomorrow has the potential to be a good Some Day.

This entry was posted in Finding a Balance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

