The Silent Killer

Diabetes is kicking my ass

Really

I know I have type 2 so the onus is on me to eat healthier and exercise more. I also have central sleep apnea which doesn’t always respond to my CPAP machine and often leaves me exhausted all day. Who feels like excercising when you have had no sleep? I also have Polycystic Ovaries which wreaks havoc on my hormones and leads to weight gain.  Which then makes the Diabetes worse.

I also have depress3534215167_a986eed0ec_z_largeion – at times crippling depression and anxiety that make it hard for me to get out of bed in the morning let alone exercise on purpose. I use food as my emotional crutch.  Feel sad. Eat. Feel scared. Eat. Feel frustrated. Eat. And so on.

I have read all the scary stuff that Diabetes can bring to the table. Loss of sight, loss of
limbs, death. It is terrifying, and yet when presented with a butter tart I scarf it down. When it comes to sugar I have no self control.  But I am trying. I made a gradual switch from Cola to Diet Cola (don’t lecture about the harm sweetners do, I can only take one step at a time) and now I am focusing on drinking less cola each day. I am eating more greek yoghurt and other healthy options.

But I still eat carbohydrates way too much.

I’m a food addict and it needs to stop.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Silent Killer

  1. Tina Szymczak says:

    Shit. I just read that Diabetes can cause memory loss. See Adam, it’s not my fault.

  2. Laura Maunu says:

    Just remember you are not alone. I found myself in the diabetes boat as well and it has been a struggle over the last year to do the things we all know we should do but can’t seem to wrap our brain around doing at the time we need to do it! The biggest thing that has brought my sugars down has been daily exercise and finding the time and energy seems impossible some days. I did break down and buy a treadmill. It is the first thing I do when I have the time. 30 minutes a day to start and it has been working so far in combination of trying to eat healthier. Since we haven’t a choice in this matter maybe we can be diabetic buddies? :/

Leave a Reply

